Friday, April 8, 2011

Eight Photographers Win 2011 Guggenheim Fellowships

Penelope Umbrico

Eight Photographers Win 2011 Guggenheim Fellowships

Special congratulations to Penelope Unbrico and Richard Mosse!

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation announced the winners of its 2011 Guggenheim Fellowships yesterday. Eight photographers were among the roughly 80 individuals awarded fellowships in the Creative Arts:  Karolina Karlic, Jonathan Lowenstein,  Richard Mosse, Pipo Hieu Nguyen-duy, Katherine M. Turczan,Betsy Schneider, Penelope Umbrico and John M. Willis.

The prestigious Fellowships, typically awarded to “midcareer” artists and scholars to allow them to pursue their work independently for a minimum of six months to a maximum of one year.  The Fellowships awarded in four categories: Creative Arts, Humanities, Social Science and Natural Science. Applicants submit examples of recent work and a statement of their plans for the period of the Fellowship.
Founded in 1922, the Fellowship program is intended to “add to the educational, literary, artistic, and scientific power of this country, and also to provide for the cause of better international understanding,” Photographers who have previously won Guggenheim Fellowships include Ansel Adams, Diane Arbus, Robert Adams, Manuel Alvarez Bravo, Lewis Baltz. Robert Frank, Ray K. Metzker and Joel Meyerowitz.
Information on applying for Guggenheim Fellowships can be found on the Guggenheim Foundation web site.

And check out Penelope’s first monograph published by Aperture Foundation and releasing in June 2011-

....And stay tuned for a special limited edition!

No comments: